Liberate Your Art

This is the first year I’ve participated in the Liberate Your Art postcard swap. Such a very cool idea! I have absolutely loved it, it was such fun to receive artwork in my mailbox from all over. The swap, organized by Kat Sloma from Kat’s Eye Studio, consists of sending Kat 5 postcards along with postage and address labels. She receives postcards from all over the world (1290 of them!) and then mixes them up and sends them out all over the world. (Ok, that’s a really simple way of explaining it – it is way more work than that!) I think this was the coolest Β thing I’ve been involved with and can’t wait to do it again next year!

This is a pic of the postcard I sent. I haven’t seen it posted anywhere yet, so I have no idea where it went. I would love to find out! (Info about my cards is posted at the bottom of the page.)

bizcardback-final

 

 

The first postcard I received was from Sassy at sassyangelac.com. She shared some yoga with me: the Warrior Pose.

card1

My next card is a painting by Suzanne Sperlwww.sperlygirl.com. The quote on the back of the card reads: “get out of the way – step on up – step into your greatness – let your light shine – let your love show” – kebmo

card2

My next card reads: “Go your own way” by p’shaw design with this quote on the back: “You get whatever accomplishment you are willing to declare.” – Georgia O’Keefe.

card3

My fourth card is from Deanie Houghtaling from Wildsandsphotography.blogspot.com. Deanie loves carousel horses and the horses pictured on the card are from the Arizona State Fair in Phoenix.

card4

The last swap card comes from Judith www.hollowjb.wordpress.com and is a colorful scene of parasols and patterns.

card5

And my last card came from Kat Sloma herself, thanking the participants in the Liberate Your Art 2013 postcard swap. Kat’s card is beautiful blue design called “Adorned and Alone. Kat’s website is www.kateyestudio.com.

Screen shot 2013-05-06 at 9.48.15 AM
I plan on framing all of my postcards together with a simple black frame. I’m hoping to find a special frame at the Goodwill and give it another life. Kat has put together a slideshow of all of the artwork used in the swap. I will post a link as soon as I can. Overall this was a great opportunity and I loved participating.

Liberate Your Art Swap Participants


A little about me: I am a single mom to two redheaded teenagers. My daughter, who I lovingly refer to as “Margo”, is pictured on my postcard. This was a photo that I took of her for her senior portraits this past fall. She will be entering Northern Illinois University this coming fall and I will so miss my photo buddy. Now I will have to drag my son around for photos. He will love that, I’m sure.

m14

 

The next photo on my card is a monument in the cemetery where my father is buried. I was taking photos around my hometown last fall and the colors of the fall trees were just spectacular.

c100512-13

 

Living in Chicagoland we get to experience all four seasons – most of the time. This past fall was when I decided to start taking photos a little more seriously, and it was a good time since I love the fall months the most. Color is very important to me – I just love bold bright vivid colors and this fall we had an abundance of color in the fall leaves.

n100512-1

 

This final photo is kind of an homage to my daughter who is a big fan of the TV show Doctor Who. I took this photo in the same cemetery where my father is buried and I spent the better part of a beautiful fall day. Although I am not a religious person, I love sculptural angels, and photograph them every chance I get.

c100512-6

 

In addition to photography, I am employed by the local school district, and also run a social enterprise called Blanket Statements where for each blanket purchased an additional blanket is donated to a women’s shelter to help women in need.

There are many ways to contact or follow me:

Leslie A Photography: www.leslieaphoto.com, www.facebook.com/leslieaphoto, email: leslie@leslieaphoto.com

Blanket Statements: www.blanketstatements.org, www.facebook.com/blanketstatements, email: info@blanketstatements.org

26 thoughts on “Liberate Your Art

  1. This was my first year to participate. Wasn’t the video wonderful? I’m enjoying the hop to see what treasures everyone found in their post! I love the card that you sent out and the story behind each image. Lovely! I’m sure your son will love being your photo buddy! πŸ˜€

  2. Wonderful post…Love your postcards.. especially the Angel!! ….and what wonderful art you got in return!.. I’m enjoying hopping around all the blogs to see what lovelies everyone else got in their mail πŸ™‚

  3. I like how you put your work together in the one card — a visual treat. I hope someone comes along and says “hey, I received that one!” I have only heard of one person receiving my card so I too am hoping to see “me” somewhere along this blog hop! πŸ™‚

  4. I love your work!!! Stunning images combined to make one remarkable postcard! Great job!! The art you received is also fantastic, will be checking out the artists after I look at the blogs.

  5. It’s nice to meet you! I love the photo montage you made for your card, and I enjoyed seeing each whole image and reading its backstory. You certainly got a varied and colorful collection of artworks in return.

  6. Nice post. The swap was such fun and now seeing and reading how and where the the art was received is a treat. Also enjoyed reading about your card. I saw it on the video first and was intrigued with it there. Nice meeting it’s creator here.

  7. It is wonderful to read the stories behind each of your photos. Your postcard was distinctive, with the collection of four! Thank you so much for participating this year.

  8. Hello…First, I love the name of your blog…fabulous and your photography is just wonderful. I loved being a part of this group and can’t wait until next year to do it again. The way you displayed the postcards you received is so much fun too. As a side note…I have four grown children…two of them with red hair…both boys!

    Ps. Your daughter is lovely!

  9. Wonderful postcards, all of them! This was such a fun swap, I hope you hear where yours ‘landed’ (I saw it on one of the blogs, just can’t remember which one!).

  10. I love the birdhouse/feeder you chose to photograph the postcards. It demonstrates how the cards have a life of their own after they leave our hands. What a great way to get our art out into the world!

  11. Hi there. First of all, I love the postcard you sent out. Those images are pieces important to you and it shows. What a beautiful daughter as well. Each time our four kids left for college I cried for several weeks before and after. then every time we would visit them or they would come back home I cried every time we had to hug good bye. We are such a close family and now all of our kids and grand kids live away from us—but we try to see them every 6 weeks or so. I haven’t found where my art wound up either…but hopefully some one will say here it is!
    Happy Happy Mother’s day.

  12. I love your postcard! Beautiful images! You received some lovely art in return and what a great idea to frame them all together (I may have to steal that). See you next year! Sheila

  13. Love your photography! The angel sculpture made me smile, I am also a big Dr. Who fan πŸ™‚ Beautiful collection you received and what a great idea to group frame them! I hope you find that frame soon.

Leave a Reply

